राष्ट्रीय प्रौद्योगिकी संस्थान, उत्तराखण्ड NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY, UTTARAKHAND

MINUTES OF THE 4th MEETING OF THE SENATE HELD ON 09th August 2014.

The following were present:

	1.	Prof. H.T. Thorat	-	Chairman
	2.	Prof. T.C. Kandpal		Member
	3.	Prof. R.B. Deshmukh	-	Member '
ý	4.	Dr. A.S. Dhundi	-	Member
	5.	Dr. P.K. Rakesh	_	Special Invitee
	6.	Dr. M.S. Khatri	-	Special Invitee
		Mr. Nitin Kumar	_	Special Invitee
	8.	Mr. Prakash Dwivedi	-	Special Invitee
	9.	Mr. Santosh K. Bhagat	-	Special Invitee
		Mr. Shashi Narayan	-	Special Invitee
		Dr. Gareema Sanaman	-	Special Invitee
	12.	Dr. Bhole Shankar Sikhwal	-	Special Invitee
	13.	Dr. I.M. Nagpure	-	Special Invitee
		Dr. A.K. Chaubey	_	Special Invitee
		Dr. Saroj Ranjan De	-	Special Invitee

Dr. Rashmi Gaur could not attend the meeting due to some prior commitments.

At the outset, the Chairman welcomed all the members and special invitees. The Chairman, Senate informed about the Board of Governors decision to induct all the HoDs, Deans and Associate Deans as special invitees to participate in Senate meeting.

The Committee discussed the following agenda:

S.04.01: To note and confirm the minutes of the Third meeting of the Senate held on 10th May, 2014.

Minutes of the Third meeting of the Senate were noted and confirmed.

S.04.02: To note the Action Taken Report on minutes of the Third meeting of the Senate held on 10th May, 2014.

The Action taken report on the minutes of the Third meeting of the Senate was noted.

S.04.03: Conferment of the B.Tech. Degree on graduating students in Convocation.

The Senate approved the Conferment of the B.Tech. Degrees on graduating students as proposed (Annexure I).

The Senate decided to include credits earned and CGPA of each student recommended for Conferment of the B.Tech. Degrees in the document presented to the Senate from next year onwards.

Deshould a 18/14

1. 1 3 18

9/08/14

S.04.04: To approve the list of Academic Excellence Awardees.

The Senate considered and approved the list of students eligible for the Academic Excellence Awards

S.04.05a: To consider the applications of four students who have not completed credits requirement.

The Senate resolved that if parents of these students appeal then they shall be permitted to register for 40 credits in Autumn 2014 as a special chance. If any student from amongst the list earns less than 30 credits in Autumn 2014 then he/she shall not be permitted to continue the program, and his/her admission to the Institute shall be terminated. In case, any student from amongst the list (Annexure II) clears 30 or more credits then Senate shall reconsider each case individually: Undertaking to this effect should be taken from the concerned student and his/her father.

S.04.05b: To consider the syllabus of Preparatory Written English (HMP 101) course.

The Senate approved the syllabus with a recommendation to delete 'Understanding of' from Item no. 2 of the syllabus.

The meeting ended with Vote of thanks to the chair.

(Prof. H.T. Thorat)

Chairman

(Prof. R.B. Deshmukh)

Member

(Prof. T.C. Kandpal)

Member

(Dr. A.S. Dhundi) · Member